Masters 2017: Tiebreaker Guidelines & Playoff Format


test / test 144 Views 0

masters playoff rules, masters playoff format, masters tiebreaker, masters playoff history, masters playoff holes


It’s been 4 years since a playoff was wanted to find out the Masters champion, however with the log-jam atop the 2017 leaderboard, it looks like an applicable time to revisit Augusta’s tiebreaker guidelines.

Thankfully, it’s easy.

In contrast to the opposite three majors, the Masters makes use of a sudden demise format. If there's tie on the summit of the leaderboard after 72 holes on Sunday, all gamers concerned will alternate between the No. 18 and 10 holes till one participant is victorious.

The final playoff at Augusta got here in 2013, when Adam Scott, who had buried a 25-footer on the 72nd-hole to pressure the playoff with Angel Cabrera, knocked in a 15-footer for the victory:

The yr earlier than additionally produced a playoff and an unbelievable second. After Bubba Watson and Louis Oosthuizen every parred the primary playoff gap, they went to 10, the place Watson hit his tee shot into the woods. His subsequent shot–an unbelievable hook that took a proper flip to reach on the inexperienced–was an iconic one, establishing the victory.

If the primary three rounds in 2017 are any indication, we might be in retailer for an additional fascinating playoff. Heading into Sunday, Justin Rose and Sergio Garcia are tied for the lead at six-under, whereas Rickie Fowler is only a shot again, Jordan Spieth, Ryan Moore and Charley Hoffman are two again, and one other two gamers are inside 4 strokes.

So, not solely is it a crowded leaderboard, however it’s a crowded leaderboard that options four Top-15 ranked players on the prime.